

## Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Commissions

#### **Special Meeting**

Tuesday, December 5, 2023, 5:15 p.m.

#### **FINAL MINUTES**

### I. Preliminary Business

- a. Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by Chair Monroe Labouisse at 5:16 p.m.
- b. Sukhmani Purewal, Clerk and Kelly L., Spanish Interpreter, gave Instructions for Spanish translation services.
- c. Commissioners Present: Chair Monroe Labouisse, Co- Vice Chair Administration Ameya Nori, Co-Vice Chair Membership Karin Huber-Levy, Paul Bocanegra, Whitney Genevro, , Johanna Rasmussen, Melissa Wilson, Steve Grieb, Tiffany Uhila-Hautau, Ruchi Mangtani, Sathvik Nori (arrived 5:21 pm, left 7:25 pm), Susan Swope, and Wesley Liu (arrived 5:23 pm).
- d. Commissioners Absent: Ruth Singh
- e. Staff Present: Sukhmani S. Purewal, Assistant Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
- II. M: Swope, S: Huber Levy to approve the Agenda as distributed. Passed unanimously.
- III. Juvenile Hall Inspection Report –Youth Services Center

In answer to some of the report's findings, Chief Keene said that:

- The California Office of Youth and Community Restoration (OYCR) has put out a rough draft of a flyer explaining the Youth Bill of Rights, but as yet has not produced a final copy.
- The new law on use of electronic monitoring (EMP) prohibits the consideration of a youth's residence when determining their release on EMP. The Probation Department may recommend EMP be started, continued, or terminated, in court report. The court makes the final determination.
- Probation can still inform the court that providing EMP to an out of county youth poses a hardship for the department, and that supervision may not be possible.



# Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Commissions

#### **Special Meeting**

After general discussion and public input, it was M: Bocanegra, S: Rasmussen to accept the current iteration of the Juvenile Hall inspection report. They report will be sent to Probation for comment and if substantial edits are required, the Commission will bring them back before the full Commission for consideration and vote at a future Commission meeting.

Ayes (10), Noes (2) Wilson & Grieb, Abstentions (1) Labouisse. Motion passed.

IV. Commission Chair Labouisse adjourned the meeting at 7:37 p.m.